Gregory H. Johnson
Former Astronaut and CASIS Executive
Center for the Advancement of Science in Space


Explore the Achievements of the International Space Station With Astronaut and CASIS Executive, Greg Johnson

Gregory H. Johnson is the President and Executive Director for the Center for the Advancement of Science in Space (CASIS).  In his remarkable career, he also served as a NASA astronaut — piloting two Space Shuttle missions — in addition to serving as a decorated officer and combat pilot with the United States Air Force.

As executive director of CASIS, Johnson is responsible for leading the organization´s staff to maximize utilization of the International Space Station (ISS) to benefit life here on Earth. CASIS identifies innovative applications and develops new partnership opportunities to promote utilization of our nation’s orbiting laboratory.

In 1998, he was selected as a NASA Astronaut and ultimately piloted two Space Shuttle missions (STS-123 and STS-134, both aboard Space Shuttle Endeavour) where he spent nearly 32 days in orbit and contributed to the assembly of the ISS. In October 2011, he began a rotational assignment as the Associate Director of External Programs at NASA Glenn Research Center in Cleveland, Ohio. In that role, he managed all public affairs, outreach and educational programs at the Center.

Additionally, Johnson was a decorated officer and pilot with the United States Air Force. He flew 34 combat missions in support of Operation Desert Storm and 27 missions during Operation Southern Watch. In 1994, he became a test pilot at Edwards Air Force Base, where he flew and tested the F-15C/E, NF-15B and several other aircraft. Retiring as a Colonel after nearly 25 years in the U.S. Air Force, he has logged over 5,000 flight hours in more than 50 different aircraft.

Johnson received his Bachelor´s of Science degree in aeronautical engineering from the U.S. Air Force Academy, his Master´s of Science degree in flight structures engineering from Columbia University and his M.B.A. from the University of Texas at Austin.

For more information, please visit